For the Love of JR

I like Twitter. If I had to choose one preferred social media platform, that would be it. I like how it connects people while forcing them to be concise (a talent I am still working to cultivate.) What I don’t understand is why, when there are only 140 characters before you, people still insist on not reading what you actually say.

I am a big fan of Jim Ross’s podcast, The Ross Report. I’ve listened to them all, and am never disappointed by JR’s professionalism, and his ability to get quality content out of most of his guests. So when I opened Twitter this morning and saw the following tweet, I was a little upset:

Displaying FullSizeRender.jpgFullSizeRender

My distaste for Russo’s tweet caused me to, perhaps, jump too quickly to respond. I took to my own Twitter account to express my concern for Russo’s flippant attitude toward’s JR’s show.

image1image2

This immediately garnered me a wave of responses – a great many people telling me to get over it, or just not tune in. The thing that really bothered me, though, was that my message was being interpreted as a dig at JR, including by the man himself, and that made me feel rotten. That was never my intention.

I have my own reasons for disliking Vince Russo – none of which are particularly interesting. But regardless of his history in the business or past actions on social media, I expect anyone who accepts an invitation to appear on Jim Ross’s podcast to treat it as an honor. You can tell that JR puts a great deal of work (researching, planning) for each show. He clearly enjoys what he does and takes great pride in providing his listeners with a thorough interview. You can also tell that it is a great honor to everyone who appears on his show to be asked. Therefore, I can see that this might create the chance for a guest to appear on the show to talk about a topic that isn’t there favorite, but they are willing to talk about anything just for the opportunity to work with JR. (I know I certainly would be.)

Everyone knows that Russo isn’t too sweet on the current WWE product – and neither am I, for that matter. But my distaste comes from a place of love – a passion for WWE that drives a desire for the product to be the best it can be. I think JR is of a similar mindset. It is best for the industry as a whole for every promotion to be working to the best of their ability, not sliding by with the lowest possible ratings they can sustain themselves on. Russo, however, doesn’t say that he doesn’t like what’s happening in WWE or that he’s appearing on the podcast to give JR an opposing view. What he actually says is “I don’t care what happens at all.”

If you don’t care, you should probably stop talking about it and find something else to do. It doesn’t encourage me to tune in when I know you are indifferent to any outcome TLC might have. I am all for JR interviewing someone whose opinions are in direct opposition with his own – in fact, some of his best podcasts have included this kind of back-and-forth. I’ve mentioned before that one of my favorite sayings is “if you’re dumb, surround yourself with smart people. If you’re smart, surround yourself with smart people who disagree with you.” And I don’t need to tell you, dear reader, how brilliant I think JR is.

The only thing that doesn’t seem smart here is Russo thinking that a good way to advertise being on a well-respected podcast is by letting the potential audience know he doesn’t care about the topic he’s been asked to discuss. The fans don’t treat JR that way and we expect his guests not to, either.

The Lady J Says

 

Leave a Reply

