The Abyss

It’s Monday even here on the east coast as I write this. I decided to skip out on seeing a co-worker’s band tonight and opted to come in out of the rain and spend a quiet evening with the dog.

I haven’t decided if I’m going to watch RAW yet. I was so egregiously irritated with last week’s episode that I’m not so sure I need to sit through three hours of live nonsense again. I don’t write a review of the show, so nothing would be missing from the blog if I did skip it. Sometimes a part of RAW inspires a post, so I could just watch clips of it on youtube tomorrow or even DVR it and fast forward through the garbage parts. I would much rather spend the rest of my evening continuing my research for my next character analysis post.

I don’t expect I will really miss anything of value if I don’t watch. I have spent the past four months holding out hope that WWE would surprise us and suddenly start telling stories worth watching – but I’m done hoping for that. Now I’m just hoping they don’t do anything distasteful or detrimental to the current talent. I suppose every one in a blue moon they’ll accidentally put two people in a match who put on a clinic and cheer me up, but that’s becoming a rarity.

Who even knows how low the viewership is going to have to get before anything really changes in WWE? What are WWE’s numbers in comparison to other products USA could have on in those three hours? Are people also not buying the network or attending live events? I think it’s going to get even worse before it gets any better. There’s also a good chance they may ruin a few of their characters before they even get to a turning point. There are actually times where I feel bad for Roman Reigns. If WWE doesn’t get its act together, he may actually never get as over as he was at the 2014 Royal Rumble. And how does that feel? You’re 30 years old and your peak is in your rear view – ouch.

I’ve spent a lot of time on this blog and in my past writings sticking up for being a feminist wrestling fan. I’ve had people actually come up to me in person and argue with me about how WWE treats women, and I always stick up for my fandom with the same concept: if I stop watching and stop vocally disapproving, how will things ever change? I’m not ready to give up on women’s wrestling, in WWE or any promotion, so I continue to voice dissent and hope some day someone listens. By that same argument, shouldn’t I sit down tonight to watch RAW and then spend some time getting together a solid analysis for why it (most likely) sucked? I call it “shouting into the abyss” and no, I have no reason to believe anyone is listening. But I have always been hopeful that maybe someone is – or one day will be.

But, then again, maybe the abyss is just an abyss – a bottomless void. Maybe there is no one listening. Maybe WWE is doomed to always be one thing, and there isn’t any hope for it getting better. And if that’s true – if that’s really the root of it all – what are we all doing here? Why are any of us bothering?

I think we all understand that just because you can’t see the bottom of a hole doesn’t mean there isn’t one. I’m hoping WWE hits theirs soon, so we can start watching them rise again. Until then we can either refuse to bear witness as they try like hell to self-destruct, or we can sit down together to watch and come here after to talk about it. It’s up to you what you do – I think you know where you can find me tonight.

The Lady J Says

Leave a Reply

